Wandering in Wonder

038
‘simple’ beauty

 

As both a reader and writer, I like to explore the territories of Sci-fi and fantasy.  One of the best things about these genres is the chance to see fantastical creatures and cultures.  But then I begin to wonder: among all these elves and faeries, aliens and AIs, what makes humanity stand out?  We humans tend to be the boring or weaker race.

Even when I step out of my books and into reality, I think about what makes mankind unique.

 

Well, here’s one thing in our favour:

 

We know what it is to wonder.  I don’t mean wonder as in think in curiosity; I mean wonder as in feel awe.

 

Wonder is a true gift.  No-one who has felt it can deny this.

 

And just like any other gift, wonder is meant to be used and used well.  I get the most out of my walks looking not at my feet, but at the shadows of the clouds on blue hued mountains and sunlight filtering through young leaves.

 

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder

Consider all the worlds Thy Hands have made

 

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God to Thee,

How great Thou art, how great Thou art

 

Likewise, writers and readers should know how to employ wonder as the powerful tool that it is.

 

Many of my favourite books include a sense of wonder.  Hind’s Feet on High Places takes the time to notice a brilliant desert flower.  The Tales of Goldstone Wood series has a host of stars (and the most unique stars you can ever hope to see) in celestial song and dance.  Anne of Green Gables delights in nature and close friendship.  Narnia displays the creation of a world!

 

The fact that we can recognize and feel inspired by such a marvelous universe we live in should be a wonder in itself.  I can’t think of any other creature that stays up late into the night, gazing at the moonlight, and then writes a sonata about it.

8 thoughts on “Wandering in Wonder

  1. So true! Wonder is a powerful, beautiful thing. Tales of Goldstone Wood inspires wonder in me too. ^_^ Same with Chronicles of Narnia.

    I think wonder is an important part of becoming child-like, as Jesus said. We get rather attached to our logic and science and cold, hard facts, and forget to revel in the mysteries.

    Like

    1. I don’t think I even thought about it that way before, but you’re right! After all, wonder is basically finding that there is something- or someone- with a magnificence much deeper than what we can understand.

      Like

  2. I love this! Sometimes I worry that my WIP’s narrator is too enthusiastic about the beauty of nature etc but you make me feel validated! Lovely post, Blue ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

