The Purposeful Creative

Sept17,2014 (233)
An example of Westminster Abbey’s beauty.

 

I’d be hard-pressed to find a more meaningful building than Westminster Abbey.  Within those beautiful walls one can find history, art, and worship all living under the same roof.  Everything there has a purpose, and that purpose is to honour.  The effect is powerful.

I remember seeing it all for myself, and thrilling over it.

That same day, I also went to Tate Modern.  It didn’t quite leave the same impression on me.

 

Anything was acceptable at Tate Modern, and so much of it ended up looking pointless, unappealing, or downright un-nerving.  One of the displays seemed to be a cluster of lumps, painted brown.  What it brought to mind was anything but edifying.

 

Perhaps it’s uncultured of me to be criticizing art, especially in this era.  But has creativity lost its purpose?

Art does more than mirror culture; it affects culture.  It’s like any other human interaction, really.  After all, words and actions can either make or break a relationship, family, even community.

With that in mind, it makes sense that worthwhile art will create a worthwhile response in the audience.  I believe the best way to do this is to make art that reflects what is true, what is good, and what is beautiful.  Granted, sometimes it may include what is false, wicked, and ugly, but only to serve as a contrast for the better and brighter elements.

 

I have many more thoughts on the subject, but I will close with this:

Art is, in essence, a reminder.

What do I want to remind my audience of?

3 thoughts on “The Purposeful Creative

  1. Your posts are always very thought-provoking. There’s a lot of art that I see street painters create that seem to me to be so much “better” (as that’s currently the only work I can think to use) than some famous pieces of artwork that are hung in museums, or auctioned for thousands.

    However, perhaps that for others, seeing those same works will invoke the same sort of feeling you felt when you saw Westminster Abbey. Perhaps they look at those “lumps of brown clay” (and is that the one with the brown blobs on a wooden frame?) and see a story, a message.

    But I digress. (And I apologize for this rather long comment) What was the purpose of creativity? While yes, art does reflect the culture of the artist, what is creativity’s purpose? What even is creativity? Is creativity a new idea, a bright and brilliant innovation, something that the world at large has barely even thought about before? Or is “creativity” just something old, spun and tinkered until it appears to be something new? And are those beautiful paintings and glass figurines I see being peddled on the streets less creative than those lumps of brown on a stick?

    Like

  2. Long comments give me all the more to think about, so please don’t apologize!
    You make a fair point. Perhaps someone out there does see a purpose to the brown thing on the stick. In which case I’d owe both the viewer and creator an apology.
    But as for me, the purpose doesn’t come out clear enough. I don’t know what the artist was trying to say.

    (You also make some good points with your thoughts on creativity. It’s certainly something to explore for next time.)

    Like

  3. I loves the last two sentences, Blue! Which is not to say I didn’t love all the preceding sentences too, but you know. 😉 Art is a powerful thing indeed, and every piece of it contains a message of some kind (even if it’s the poorly conveyed message of brown, abstract lumps–which doesn’t say much to me either!)… It’s well worth thinking about what our creativity is reflecting to the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

