Lest we Forget

Remembrance Day 2016 has come and gone, but lingers in my thoughts. 

Conflicts and commemoration have been on my mind for some time now, not confined to one special day, but spreading out like an ivy vine and sometimes entwining.

This morning, as any other morning, I had coffee in this cup.

cup-2

I have many favourite cups, but this one is especially valuable to me.  It’s from my neighbour, a veteran of the Korean War.  In the mornings I rummage through the cupboard, hunting for this one special cup.  When I finally find it, my grouchy morning fog is interrupted as I think of my neighbour.

cup1

I remembered spiritual battles as I read the biographies and histories of saints and reformers.  Reformation Day was on October 31st, and All Saints’ Day on the 1st of November.  Then on the 6th it was the International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church, and I remembered even today saints are still in combat.

white_spot_cross-001

I lost my poppy only a week after buying it.  I found it, thankfully, and I don’t intend to lose it again.   Now when I wear my poppy, I keep it in place by sticking my babies’-feet pin on one of the red petals.  In this way I remember another, more silent, conflict.

canadaleaf

 

Remembrance Day 2016 has come and gone, but remembrance can be at any time, for any life, and in many ways.

“Lest we forget.”

2 thoughts on “Lest we Forget

Leave a Reply

