Books from the Past

 

Some books are embedded into my memory.  I may not remember the words, or even the whole story-line, but still there will be things that will catch my imagination and stay with me for years to come.   Sometimes my heart and mind will be so touched that I will return to the bookshelf to relive those memories.  Here are five such books.

  • Bambi’s Children– I used to have this adaption of Felix Salten’s book a very long time ago. I don’t think I was even five yet, and I never fully grasped the story.  But it was a Bambi story, and I loved all things Bambi.  Then one day the book disappeared.  About a decade passed, and I still remembered that book.  I remembered that the pictures were pretty and lifelike.  I remembered that there was danger, and although I was scared that the characters might be hurt, I wanted to know what happened.  But I’d never see the illustrations again, or know what happened.  The book was gone…or so I thought.  One happy day, I was able to find it on Amazon I bought it immediately.  Unfortunately the storytelling wasn’t as good as I remember it, but the illustrations are still lovely.BambisChildren.jpg
  • Read with Me Bible-My first bible was a KJV, with tiny little letters forming words I couldn’t read yet. I remember being excited to own such an important looking book, but then being a bit put out by not knowing what it said.  Most of my early theological education came from my little purple bible.  This one was condensed into snippets and stories that I could understand, and the illustrations were lively.  One thing, though:  The pictures of the forbidden fruit looked like a pomegranate.  For years I thought pomegranates were still forbidden fruit.
  • The Seven Silly Eaters– For a long time I didn’t remember reading this book. But I remember that my lump of botched bread dough with the pretzel sticks poked into it was inspired by…inspired by…something.  I never could figure out where this almost-memory came from, until I was rummaging through the library books a few years back, and found one of the books for Lil bro.   There was something familiar about this book.   The memories came seeping back as I flipped through it, and I rediscovered the fun of the quirky Peters family.  My mother ended up buying the book for Lil bro…but I secretly suspect she bought it for me, too.sevensillyeaters
  • The Fourteen Bears Summer and Winter– I don’t remember this book having a great deal of plot, but I do remember loving it regardless. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen it, but I can still feel the torn and frayed cover.  I have faint but fond memories of each bear in his or her own little house, with their preferred flavour of honey, and other cute things like that.   I believe my aunt still has it.
  • Rupert Almanacs- Are these things still in production?  I hope so!  Most of my collection comes from the ’70s, but I have one dating from ’58.  The whimsy of Rupert’s adventures captures the childhood spirit of adventure.  The way the stories are told in layers: picture, verse, and text, adds some unique depth. rupert

It’s incredible to look back on my favourite old books.  I still find enjoyment in them, this time seasoned with nostalgia.  But as I take a closer look, I start to see how much I have been influenced and inspired by those well worn pages.

The inspiration is still with me, and someday I would love to pass it along through my own books.  

3 thoughts on “Books from the Past

  1. 🙂
    It’s always nice finding a book you remember from when you were young 🙂
    I don’t believe I’ve heard of any of these though.
    Personally, I have vivid memories of Wombat Stew, but no idea where I read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

