10 Beautiful Book Snippets/Quotes

 

I love finding gems in a book, be it snippet, scene, or quote.  I have a few scattered word documents with book quotes saved on them.  But if the book is mine, and I’m feeling bold, I take out a pencil and underline.

Another way to highlight these gems is by blogpost, like so:

  1. As you can see, he had a strange, idiosyncratic way of looking at things. I suspect he got it from the Gospel.- Les Miserables, Victor Hugo
  2. “What you believe cannot affect the truth of the matter.” “Cannot the same be said for unbelief?”- Dragonwitch, Anne Elisabeth Stengl
  3. A good friend of mine is a cup of tea, indeed.- How Green Was My Valley, Richard Llewellyn
  4. “Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe.  But he’s good.”- The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, C.S.Lewis
  5. “If you’ll only call me Anne spelled with an e I shall reconcile myself to not being called Cordelia”- Anne of Green Gables, L.M. Montgomery
  6. “It’s a gift!’ he said.  He was referring to his art, and also to the result; but he was using the word quite literally.- Tree and Leaf, J.R.R. Tolkien
  7. “We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things!  Make you late for dinner!”- The Hobbit, J.R.R. Tolkien
  8. The tiny plant answered at once in a tone as golden as itself, “Behold me! My name is Acceptance-with-Joy.”- Hind’s Feet on High Places, Hannah Hurnard
  9. “I thought the fear of the Lord was the beginning of wisdom.” “It’s the same thing.  Humility.”- Go Set A Watchman, Harper Lee
  10. “The dream has ended: this is the morning.”- The Last Battle, C.S.Lewis

 

Here we have ten shining gems, although I could have put up much more.  I find a new sense of wonder and enjoyment as I look through these pieces again.  These are the parts that jump out on the first reading, and stick with me for years after.  These are the parts that make me laugh, or think.  These are the parts that carry the story’s heart, or at least part of it.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

7 thoughts on “10 Beautiful Book Snippets/Quotes

  1. Oh, these are lovely! And what a great idea–both the idea to collect quotes and the idea to put them in a blog post. 🙂 A friend recently told me she’s going to start writing down favorite lines in a notebook, which struck me as splendid…but I doubt I have the organization skills/stick-with-it-ness to do it myself.

    Like

  2. Ahh, I love this! Each one is so thoughtfully chosen. #10 is one of my all-time favorites too. Can’t go wrong with Narnia! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

