Fairy-tale Felons

It’s always interesting to rummage through the old folders and USB drives. Sometimes I never do find what I’m originally looking for, but then I find things I’ve long forgotten or thought lost. This is a short story, based on a prompt from a young writers group I was a part of way back in the day.

***

Normally I wouldn’t bother with such a ‘jewelry store’ as measly as this one.  But among the imitation gems and pearls I could smell it, warm and rich.  Pure gold.  I don’t know how it got into a second-hand place like this, but I knew exactly how it was going to come out: in my pockets. 

  There wasn’t even a proper security spell.  I didn’t bother breaking the cheap locking incantation that covered the doors.  I simply flew up to the unprotected upper windows and slipped right in.  Once inside I pulled down my mask just enough to uncover my nostrils, and sniffed the place out as I crept down the corridors. 

  I stopped suddenly as a new scent drifted through an open door of an office; the scent of an aging human.  I stood frozen in place, wings braced and the barb on my tail extended, and cocked an ear towards the door.  I expected to hear movement, the rustle of paperwork, muttering.  Instead I heard what sounded like a wheezing chainsaw. 

  I peeked into the room, and grinned.  An old man, the guard, was sitting with his feet propped up on a desk.  His chin was sunk deep into his cloudy beard, which fluttered with every snore.  Covering one wall was a magic mirror, one of the oldest security methods still in use.  It would be an easy thing to thwart; all I had to do was turn its storeroom counterpart around so that it faced the wall. 

   Except… someone had already done so. 

  I dashed downstairs, and quickly found the storeroom.  The door handle had already been melted off, and the door was ajar.  An infuriatingly familiar scent hung heavily in the air.  I entered the storeroom with a snarl.

  “Garnet!”

  He didn’t bother to face me, but continued to shovel the gold from its case and into his pack.  He only turned enough for me to see his smirk.  But I could tell by the way he flattened his crest that he was just as vexed to see me as I was to see him. 

  “Diamond,” he said as he opened a new case.

  “What a pleasant surprise.  I thought you had quit this line of work after our last heist.”

  “That was your plan, wasn’t it?” I hissed, steam rolling out from between my bared fangs.

  I always knew Garnet had a competitive streak.  But back when we worked together I was naive enough to think that he wouldn’t throw me under the coach if given the chance. 

  I know better now, and I intended to return the favour. 

  My tail lashed out, wrapped around his ankle, and yanked back.  Garnet crashed to the ground.  I didn’t have time to enjoy the satisfaction of seeing the surprise on his face.  The next moment I had to duck as a stream of fire shot above my head.  I replied with a flame of my own. 

  Within moments the room was full of the scent of fire, melting gold, and raging dragon. I was unable to pick up on the two new, subtler scents. 

  Without warning, a wall of water crashed through the door, swamping the room and filling it with steam.  My fire was doused, my vision blocked, and I realised then that it had been a trap all along. 

  “No!” I heard Garnet snarl.

  Then I felt firm hands snatch my wrists, pulling them back and securing them with iron handcuffs.  The effects of the iron worked quickly.  I sank to my knees on the flooded floor, unable to fight as my wings were tied in place with an iron chain. 

  “I’ve got this one down!” a human voice called behind me. 

A second voice replied through the steam, a younger man with a naiad accent. “And I have this one!  Mission accomplished!”

   I flattened my crest and hissed.  In a way I had gotten exactly what I wanted: Garnet was humiliated, caught by novice do-gooders in a second-hand jewelry store.  I never wanted to work with him again.  But neither did I want to share his punishment.  I know this flies in the face of dragon nature, but I should have left that gold alone.  It wasn’t worth it.

Leave a comment