Sunshine Blogger Award, Round 2

I have once again been tagged by Belle @ Worlds Of Ink And Paper for the Sunshine Blogger Award.  Thank you, Belle!

  1. Of awesome friends in fiction, do you prefer Legolas and Gimli, Holmes and Watson, or Robin Hood and Little John?- I love the way Legolas and Gimli start off at odds, but then –while still opposites- end up as close as brothers.
  2.  Of awesome romances in fiction, do you prefer Eowyn and Faramir, Taran and Eilonwy (of The Prydain Chronicles), or Marguerite and Percy Blakeny (of The Scarlet Pimpernel)? Eowyn and Faramir are both awesome, but we see so little of them together that there’s not much for getting to know them as a duo. It’s been ages since I’ve read the Prydain Chronicles, and my memory of Taran and Eilonwy together is too foggy. But I remember enjoying the way the marrige between Marguerite and Percy Blakeney was re-forged.
  3. Of awesome solo characters in fiction, do you prefer Bilbo Baggins, Hercule Poirot (of Agatha Christie’s mysteries by the same name), or Long John Silver (of Treasure Island)?- Bilbo Baggins! In many ways, I can relate to the little guy. People are always eating my food, and then trying to drag me out of the house.  Also, ‘I want to see mountains again, Gandalf, mountains, and then find somewhere… were I can finish my book.’
  4.  What country would you never want to visit in any time period?
  5. What country would you definitely want to visit in any time period?- Y’know, I think I’m going to answer these two questions together. They’re very good questions, very interesting questions, but I don’t think I can properly answer them. I thought them over, and they made me realize that I can’t look at a place with too much idealism, or, alternately, too much pessimism.  I’d love to go to Scotland, land of my roots…but what if I’m plunked into the time of the plague?  I’m not too keen on going to a hot, dry place like Iraq…but what if I’m plunked in ancient Babylon just in time to see Ezra leading the Israelites home?
  6. In fiction, do you prefer romance, friendship, or family bonds as a theme? –I love family bonds, with friendship coming in close second.
  7. Your standard tv shows to watch are most similar to Doctor Who, Poirot Mysteries, or I Love Lucy?- I used to watch the Poirot Mysteries, but it’s been a long time since I’ve watched anything, really.
  8. Your standard book to read is most similar to War Of The Worlds, Harry Potter, or Pride And Prejudice?- *cricket chirps* I haven’t read any of these, except for Pride and Prejudice- and although I didn’t hate it, I didn’t love it either.
  9. Do you take coffee over chocolate, or vice-versa? By ‘chocolate’ I assume you mean hot chocolate. If so, then I’d choose coffee each and every time. Even mochas are too rich and sweet for me.
  10. What was the dumbest, but most fun thing you’ve ever done?- I must be a boringly level-headed person. Nothing’s coming to mind.
  11. 11. Are you a daytime person, or are you more nocturnal? I’m kind of nocturnal, and I’m not all that happy about it. My brain seems to choose night hours to be active, which leaves me feeling like lead in the morning.

My Brain: Let’s write!

Me: It’s nearly 11.  I need sleep.

My Brain: Let’s ponder the deep mysteries of the universe!

Me: It’s 2 AM.  I need sleep.

My Brain:  Let’s worry about tomorrow!

Me: It’s 5:30.  I need sleep.

My brain:  Let’s sleep.

Me: It’s 8 now.  I need coffee.

 

Thanks again, Belle!

I think I’ll pass this on to Tracey @ Adventure Awaits, and the ‘Florid Sword’ @ The Writer’s Song.  Anyone else who wants to take the tag is welcome to do so, of course.

Here are my questions.

  1. How are you today?
  2. What’s one thing you love about your job/school?
  3. Know any other languages?
  4. What’s one thing you adore- but think you will be able to give up for the rest of your life?
  5. What’s one thing you despise- but think you will be able to endure for the rest of your life?
  6. The doorbell rings. You answer it, and find the future you at the doorstep.  What do you do?
  7. Have you ever gotten lost, but enjoyed the experience?
  8. Do you have any culinary quirks?
  9. Imagine that a theme song from a film or show played every time you entered a room. Which theme song would you want it to be?
  10. Where would you rather live? A houseboat, a mountain cabin, a farmhouse, or an apartment overlooking the whole city?
  11. Where’s Waldo?

4 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award, Round 2

  1. Love this, Blue! (I think I did an internal fist pump when I realized you’ve never read Harry Potter. It’s getting harder and harder to find those who fit that category. 😉 I mean, not that there’s anything wrong with reading Harry Potter, but it’s nice to find another person who hasn’t read it, if you know what I mean.)

    That conversation with your brain cracked me up! And I can kinda relate to it, too. 🙂

    Like

  2. Blue! I am back to the blogosphere! So lovely to read this post. How are you? How has the spring been? Any news of note? Tell all!

    I more or less spend all my time with the thought “I want to reread LotR” somewhere in between the back and the front of my mind. Seeing that question about Gimli and Legolas pushed it to the fore!

    I like your question #7. That happened to me today, actually!

    Like

    1. Welcome back! So good to hear from you again!
      I’ve been enjoying my spring, and I hope to put some of it’s fruit up here at some point. I’m looking forward to hearing about YOUR news!

      Gotta love those two, whether it be their bickering or their brotherhood.

      Sometimes getting lost can be an adventure… other times is just a pain. I hope your experience was of the fun variety.

      Like

Leave a comment